for your eyes only
Knowledge Hurts – a blog of thoughts, things and stuff.

Debian GNU/Linux Networking and X.org problems

Etch is here. At last. Debian GNU/Linux 4.0 really was worth waiting, but now that it is here and that I have installed it on my Averatec 3250 Laptop (12”, AMD Athlon XP M), several problems occured. It’s always the same when installing a Linux distribution on it:The VIA graphics drivers (for X.org) really tremendously evidently unbelievably SUCK! I have given up 3D apps as soon as I installed Linux on that machine, but I wanted to have some sort of graphical interface aka an X-Server running. This used to be no problem with kernel versions 2.4.18 or something alike and XFree. But with a 2.6 Linux kernel and X.org: What a mess!

Those drivers really are _broken_ and I have never seen such a thing on linux for years. They interfere with my VIA Rhine chipset and thus, lockups occur, messages like “disabling IRQ” keep flashing over my screen and I can’t use my network connection when working under X.

Now, finally I found a way this damn thing works browsing some Ubuntu bugreports on the Via Unichrome chipset: It’s simple: unload the Xserver module glx and use this as a device section in your xorg.conf:

Section "Device"
Identifier "VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [S3 UniChrome] Integrated
Video"
Driver "via"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "DisableIRQ"
EndSection

Read on! Knowledge hurts.

No Responses to “Debian GNU/Linux Networking and X.org problems”

Leave a Reply

