for your eyes only
Knowledge Hurts – a blog of thoughts, things and stuff.

Root the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini, free memory

This is a howto to get more free space on your X10 min smartphone. And some rambling that I wanted to get out there desperately. Let’s start with my rambling.

The X10 mini is a nice phone. It is in fact the best phone I have ever had. Not because it is a good phone or because it’s well supported by Sony (no, it clearly isn’t, if it were, we had Android 2.2 on it and frequent security upgrades). No. But I like the camera. I like the fact that it is small and runs Android smoothly all the same. I like a lot about it. But what I don’t like is the memory size (and – if you happen to have read over my commentary above without taking notice of this  – I feel it needs an update to recent versions of Android!)

So. Why do I think we need Android 2.2 on this phone? Well, because Android 2.2 has App2SD functionality. And because my X10 mini is not even a year old, so it is far too new to be abandoned by its manufacturer. Back to App2SD, though. App2SD means installing Apps directly to the SD card and not the internal memory. And since the memory is so damn small, we need that. Badly.

For the time being, I had to hack myself to get a solution for the problem on my own to increase memory for installing more applications. Here I will explain how I did it.

You will need a PC with Windows XP (neither Wine on Linux nor Win7 worked for me) with .Net Framework 2.0 (no higher version, no lower one) installed.

1. Update to the latest Firmware (the one with ANT+ was the newest as I am writing this)

2. Download and unpack SuperOneClick.rar from this forum http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=906742 (you need to register for free)

3. Open “SuperOneClick” and select “Root”.

4. Connect X10 mini with the cable to the PC.

5. Wait! Look at what it says on the screen and click through the dialogues that pop up.

6. When everything is done, reboot.

7. Install “busybox installer” and “Titanium Backup” from the market. Download busybox 1.19 with the help of the installer and then start titanium backup. Go into Chuck Norris mode there and uninstall shit like Facebook or other garbage apps you could not uninstall before.

8. Install Link2SD from Market and move your biggest and least used apps to SD. More info here: http://www.xda-developers.com/android/move-selected-apps-to-sd-with-link2sd-app/

9. Finally you are done and have gained free memory to install new applications. Or you could use the freed memory to simply breathe in a bit more deeply when using your X10 mini now.

Read on! Knowledge hurts.

One Response to “Root the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini, free memory”

  1. Thanks for this great post! I LOVE my mini and want to keep using it. There is just not enough room for the apps I need for work. It’s the best business phone I have had since the P1i.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

